Breaking News


The History of the World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious 카지노사이트 tournaments in the world, attracting players from around the globe to compete for millions of dollars in prize money. In this article, we will take a closer look at the history of the WSOP, from its humble beginnings to its current status as a major event in the world of professional poker.

Origins of the WSOP

The WSOP was first held in 1970 at Binion’s Horseshoe Casino in Las Vegas. The tournament was the brainchild of Benny Binion, a casino owner who wanted to promote poker as a legitimate game of skill and strategy. The first WSOP featured just seven players who competed in a single event, with Johnny Moss being crowned the first WSOP champion.

Growth of the WSOP

Over the years, the WSOP grew in popularity, attracting more players and offering larger prize pools. In 1972, the WSOP introduced the $10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas hold’em championship event, which would later become the Main Event. The Main Event quickly became the most prestigious tournament in the poker world, attracting the best players from around the world.

Television Coverage

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, the WSOP gained even more popularity thanks to television coverage. In 1973, CBS Sports aired the Main Event as a one-hour special, which was the first time a poker tournament had been broadcast on national television. In the years that followed, more and more networks began airing the WSOP, helping to turn it into a cultural phenomenon.

International Expansion

In 2005, the WSOP held its first event outside of Las Vegas, with a tournament being held in London. Since then, the WSOP has continued to expand internationally, with events being held in Europe, Asia, and Australia. Today, the WSOP is a truly global event, attracting players from all corners of the world.

Notable Champions

Over the years, the WSOP has crowned many notable champions, including Johnny Chan, Phil Hellmuth, and Daniel Negreanu. Perhaps the most famous WSOP champion of all time is Chris Moneymaker, who won the Main Event in 2003 after qualifying for the tournament through an online satellite. Moneymaker’s victory helped to spark the online poker boom, as millions of players were inspired to try their hand at the game.

Changes to the WSOP

The WSOP has undergone many changes over the years, both in terms of its format and its ownership. In 2004, Harrah’s Entertainment (now Caesars Entertainment) acquired the rights to the WSOP, and the tournament has since undergone numerous changes, including the introduction of new events and changes to the Main Event format.


The World Series of Poker has come a long way since its inception in 1970. From a small gathering of poker players in a Las Vegas casino to a global event that attracts players from around the world, the WSOP has cemented its place in the history of poker. With its rich history, notable champions, and continued growth, the WSOP is sure to remain a major event in the world of professional poker for many years to come.